Long read

In the northern suburbs of Marseille, meet the school that strives to change the world

After The Revolution, Now What?

1/02/2023

The Cours Ozanam opened in Marseille in 2014 as a member of the non-contract private school network Espérance Banlieues. Through social diversity and Scouting-inspired teaching methods, the school fosters values such as solidarity and self-confidence well beyond its walls.

“Socrates, beating you’s not a breeze!”, “1, 2, 3, 4, Beethoven here we go!”, “Marie Curie, we all follow your lead!” At the Cours Ozanam, an elementary school for children aged 3 to 10 in northern Marseille, today is a time for celebration. The autumn sun is shining over the few hundred of students gathered in a circle round the teaching staff, with their parents watching from benches. The children are grouped in cross-age teams, under the banner of famous historical figures (from Socrates to Lucie Aubrac and Marco Polo), and one by one they chant their team slogan. It is now Nolan’s turn to come forward, with his mother by his side. As a first-grader, the 6-year-old boy is a new student, and his mother doesn’t hide her joy. “Your parents and I are very proud to give you this uniform,” headmaster Valentin Rebeix says solemnly. Young Nolan blushes, eager to put on the green sweater that every other boy wears at school. Once he has the sweater on, Nolan turns towards his classmates: they do the wave before they all applaud him, looking happy as if it were Christmas Day. Then his team captain, a 5th grade student, comes to take him to his seat: from now on, Nolan officially belongs to the great family of Cours Ozanam.

Founded in 2014, Cours Ozanam is a part of the Espérance Banlieues network. The association comprises 18 non-contract schools (Cours Ozanam included) spread across the French territory, each located in a priority neighborhood. The project stems from a major event: the 2005 French riots in the suburbs, evincing the failure of public policies in these neighborhoods. As a response, in 2010, the mayor of Montfermeil (93) wanted to launch an experimental program to explore alternative solutions in the field of education. Two years later, the Espérance Banlieues foundation was born, with a first school located in Montfermeil and a second in the 13th arrondissement of Marseille.

Beyond learning French, mathematics, or geography, the teachers at Espérance Banlieues are also educators who strive to impart values related to character development

A pedagogy that fosters community life

“We share three fundamental pillars with all the other schools from the network,” explains Valentin Rebeix, head of Cours Ozanam since one year. “To educate, to teach and to anchor.” Indeed the professors of the Espérance Banlieues network do not only teach French, math or geography, they are also educators striving to pass on values related to social skills. “Our pedagogy is based on teaching methods borrowed to Scouting: compulsory uniform, cross-age teams, contribution to chores, mini-camps, and collective games with the staff” the headmaster goes on.

“Here, everyone can be friends with anyone,” claims Soumaya, aged 8, attending the Cours Ozanam for 3 years. 9-year-old Inès agrees: “In my former school, differences were a big deal, like who was less rich than the others… When I got my uniform, it made me happy.” Both girls are members of the same team, named after the 20th century French explorer Anita Conti, and describe how glad they are to help with the chores together, like putting away the tables that are set every day in the courtyard for lunch, or taking care of the chickens, a common interest at the school. “One day, I’d like to be a team captain,” Inès says. Assigned to the older students in 5th grade, this role consists in taking care of the youngest and making sure everyone carries on their mission, just like Emile does, as the captain of the Jeanne d’Arc team: “Gabrielle, you will wipe the table clean, and you, Mehdi, you’ll put away the benches.” Through the square glasses that make him look very grown-up, the schoolboy keeps a close watch on everyone and starts stacking the tables that the other students bring him already folded. “It’s not that I particularly enjoy doing it, but it has to be done so I’m handling it,” the 10-year-old points out wisely.

The banlieue as a place of experimentation and innovation

“The school is a place of life, like a micro-society where we discover and experience human relationships of kindness, fraternity and openness,” continues Valentin Rebeix, “the ambition is to have an impact on the women and men of tomorrow. This educational project, designed exclusively to be rooted in difficult neighborhoods, aims to be a laboratory: “like Maria Montessori who developed her pedagogy within a Children’s House in a working-class neighborhood of Rome, the suburbs is the place of innovation that we can then share externally,” analyzes the thirty-year-old from Marseille.

Developing a specificity of its own, Cours Ozanam pursues two main ambitions: “to prevent and combat communitarianism, as well as children dropping out of school.” The school is actually the one where social diversity is the strongest compared to the rest of the Espérance Banlieues network: one in two pupils comes from a priority neighborhood, especially from la Cité des Lauriers, “one of the ten most difficult in France,” Valentin points out. Medhi, Elyes and Besma therefore interact with Côme, Salomé or Timéo on a daily basis.

Providing parenthood support and an opening on the neighborhood

“Being able to provide children with a real social diversity and community life is such a great opportunity,” Blanche-Astrid notices. She is a mother of three, with two children of school age who both attend Cours Ozanam. She came to witness her five-year-old son Camille receive his uniform, and she appreciates this “privileged environment”: no more than 15 students per class, teachers who are very much involved, and “freedom for all to live their religion as something they can talk about, not a taboo.” Not far from her, another mother is sat on a bench talking with other parents. “No doubt about it: it is the best school of Marseille,” claims Farida, a stay-at-home mom. “We live in the 10th arrondissement, it takes us 45 minutes to get here, but it’s worth the ride.” And yet, she had put her two daughters in private preschool and elementary school. But here, she says, “we can communicate with both professors and other parents.”

The school is a place of life, like a micro-society where one discovers and experiences human relationships of kindness, fraternity, and openness

Valentin Rebeix, director at Cours Ozanam

Since it opened in 2014, Cours Ozanam chose to develop another project in parallel to the school, dedicated to supporting parents: the staff paying the families’ homes a visit, workshops (to train in homework support, screen time management, family games, nutrition) and weekly coffee-meetings for parents. “I’m going every week,” Farida says, “you can ask as many questions as you want and we give each other tips for handling homework.” “I attend the coffee meetings from time to time, to share the struggles and joys of other parents,” Blanche-Astrid explains. “It helps me to really experience different perspectives and open myself to the neighborhood.” In keeping with their view of school being a micro-society, Cours Ozanam also builds partnerships with company directors, the nearby retirement home, and neighborhood associations. Farida was able to attend a workshop of professional reintegration with one of the associations, “Massajobs”. “Overall, it’s very positive,” she concludes.

A non-contract system: fragile but relying on solidarity

At the beginning however, Farida was confused by the “Ozanam approach”: “We had a lot of questions about how it worked, attending a non-contract school,” she recalls. Starting with tuition fees, which, albeit being adjusted according to the families’ income, still costs an average of 60€ per student each month. “These fees only covers up to 10% of the overall operating costs,” Valentin Rebeix says. Despite being hesitant at first, Farida eventually made up her mind: “For my daughters’ sake, I’d rather pay.”

To cover the annual budget, the school notably uses subsidies from the City of Marseille and the Department of Bouches-du-Rhône, even if “80% of our funds come from donations from companies or individuals,” continues the director. An operation that turns out to be double-edged: “it’s a driver of solidarity but it’s also a source of stress every year.”

Beyond the financial aspect, certain controversies have been heard at the political level: several investigations have revealed links between the Espérance Banlieues network and conservative circles. Its founder, Eric Mestrallet, was close to the Movement for France of Philippe de Villiers. The network was also initially affiliated with the Fondation pour l’Ecole, linked to La Manif pour Tous and the anti-abortion Jérôme Lejeune Foundation. Since 2019, Espérance Banlieues has freed itself from this structure and now operates under the aegis of the Fondation de France.

Help us tell the world to you !

Frictions is launching its crowdfunding campaign: by supporting Frictions, you’ll be supporting a community of authors and journalists who tell the world through intimate stories!

Support us

Learning lasting social skills

“What stuck with me the most? Being encouraged to get personally involved,” says Antoine, a 15-year-old junior student now attending an affluent high school in downtown Marseille. The “alumni reunion” the school organized this year has him come back to the place where he grew up. “Here, I learned to do things by myself. That’s why I’m playing an active part in my high school: I ran for Student Council and for the school board.” Roya, an 11-year-old former student who started 6th grade in a nearby private middle school, emphasizes how “peculiar” it felt to “go from 13 to 29 students per class.”

Among the 70 young people that now form Cours Ozanam’s alumni, “100% got to pick the middle school they wanted to attend, and 90% went to a private school. We celebrate it as a success, for they are now on track,” says the headmaster, who takes his jacket off to go and play dodge-ball with his former students. Before he joins them, Roya adds: “Cours Ozanam taught me to socialize with everyone, no matter their age or culture. Here, team spirit is key!”

Explore

Non fiction 8 min.

I didn’t know what “Allah Akbar” meant, either

Why is learning Arabic important today in France? Take me as an example: learning Arabic has not only made me aware of the French bias that I grew up with, but it has made me more empathetic.

read
Non fiction 14 min.

The QAnon diaries: 3 chronicles

Three stories to better understand who are the QAnon, a conspiracy movement born in 2017 and which now has millions of followers.

read
Long read 11 min.

French Banlieues : Since The 2005 Uprising, 15 Years In A State Of Emergency

La mort de Zyed et Bouna a amorcé les révoltes de 2005. Trois semaines révélatrices d’un malaise profond en France. Mais depuis, qu'est-ce qui a changé ?

read

Reportage

Dans les quartiers Nord de Marseille, l’école qui veut changer le monde

La révolution et après ?

1/02/2023

Appartenant au réseau d’écoles hors-contrat Espérance Banlieues, le Cours Ozanam a ouvert à Marseille en 2014. Grâce à une mixité sociale au sein des élèves et une pédagogie empruntée au scoutisme, l’école transmet des valeurs de solidarité et de confiance en soi bien au-delà de ses propres murs.

« Socrate, qui peut te battre ? », « 1,2,3, Beethoven nous voilà ! », « Marie Curie, tous ensemble, on te suit ! » Au Cours Ozanam, école maternelle et primaire à l’entrée des quartiers Nord de Marseille, l’heure est à la fête. Sous un soleil automnal, la petite centaine d’élèves est réunie en cercle autour de l’équipe pédagogique, leurs parents assis sur des bancs autour. Chaque enfant est regroupé en équipe inter-âges, sous la bannière de personnages historiques célèbres (de Socrate à Lucie Aubrac en passant par Marco Polo), dont les cris d’équipe sont scandés les uns après les autres. C’est au tour de Nolan, nouvel élève de CP de 6 ans, de s’avancer avec sa mère, présente pour l’occasion, qui ne cache pas sa joie. « Vos parents et moi sommes très fiers de vous remettre cet uniforme », déclare solennellement le chef d’établissement, Valentin Rebeix. Le petit Nolan rougit, pressé de revêtir le pull vert que portent tous les autres garçons de l’école. Une fois l’uniforme enfilé, Nolan se tourne vers ses camarades : une ola parcourt le cercle d’élèves puis tous applaudissent l’enfant, heureux comme un jour de Noël. Son chef d’équipe, un grand de CM2, vient ensuite le raccompagner à sa place : il fait désormais partie de la grande famille du Cours Ozanam.

Créé en 2014, le Cours Ozanam appartient au réseau Espérance Banlieues. Au sein de cette association, 18 écoles hors-contrat (dont le Cours Ozanam) sont réparties sur tout le territoire national, chacune dans un Quartier Prioritaire de la Ville. A l’origine, un fait majeur : les émeutes de 2005 dans plusieurs banlieues françaises, symptôme de l’échec des politiques publiques dans ces quartiers. En réaction, le maire de la ville de Montfermeil (93) souhaite lancer en 2010 une expérimentation de solutions alternatives en matière d’éducation. La Fondation Espérance Banlieues naît deux ans plus tard, avec une première école à Montfermeil puis la seconde dans le 13ème arrondissement de Marseille.

Au-delà d’apprendre le français, les mathématiques ou la géographie, les professeurs d’Espérance Banlieues sont également des éducateurs, qui s’attachent à transmettre des valeurs liées au savoir-être

Une pédagogie pour favoriser le vivre-ensemble

« Nous avons trois piliers fondamentaux communs à toutes les écoles », explique Valentin Rebeix, à la tête du Cours Ozanam depuis un an, « éduquer, enseigner et enraciner ». Car au-delà d’apprendre le français, les mathématiques ou la géographie, les professeurs d’Espérance Banlieues sont également des éducateurs, qui s’attachent à transmettre des valeurs liées au savoir-être. « Nous nous basons sur une pédagogie emprunte au scoutisme : uniforme, équipes inter-âges, participation à des services dans l’école, mini-camps ou encore jeux collectifs avec les adultes de l’équipe pédagogique » poursuit le chef d’établissement marseillais.

« Ici, on peut être ami avec tout le monde », clame Soumaya, 8 ans, élève au Cours Ozanam depuis 3 ans. Inès, 9 ans et demi, la rejoint : « dans mon ancienne école, on faisait beaucoup de différence : qui était moins riche que les autres… quand j’ai reçu mon uniforme, ça m’a rendu heureuse ». Membres de la même équipe Anita Conti, du nom de l’exploratrice française du siècle dernier, les deux fillettes racontent leur joie de réaliser des services ensemble comme ranger les tables installées dans la cour chaque midi pour le déjeuner ou encore s’occuper des poules, centre d’intérêt général. « Un jour, j’aimerais bien être chef d’équipe », poursuit Inès. Dévolu aux « grands » de CM2, ce rôle consiste à prendre soin des plus petits et s’assurer que chacun remplisse son rôle. A l’image d’Emile, chef de l’équipe Jeanne d’Arc : « Gabrielle, toi tu essuies la table, Mehdi, toi tu ranges les bancs ». Derrière ses lunettes carrées de grande personne, l’écolier veille au grain et s’attelle à ranger les tables pliées que les autres élèves lui apportent. « C’est pas que j’aime particulièrement faire ça, mais il faut le faire donc je m’en occupe », pointe-t-il doctement, du haut de ses 10 ans.

La banlieue comme lieu d’expérimentation et d’innovation

« L’école est un lieu de vie, comme une micro-société où l’on découvre et expérimente les rapports humains de bienveillance, de fraternité et d’ouverture », poursuit Valentin Rebeix, « l’ambition est d’avoir un impact sur les femmes et les hommes de demain ». Ce projet pédagogique, pensé exclusivement pour être enraciné dans des quartiers difficiles, se veut être un laboratoire : « à l’image de Maria Montessori qui a développé sa pédagogie au sein d’une Maison des enfants dans un quartier populaire de Rome, la banlieue est le lieu de l’innovation que l’on peut ensuite partager à l’extérieur », analyse le trentenaire marseillais. 

Avec une spécificité qui lui est propre, le Cours Ozanam porte deux ambitions principales : « lutter contre le décrochage scolaire et le communautarisme », annonce le directeur. De fait, cette école est l’une de celles où la mixité est la plus forte dans le réseau Espérance Banlieues : un élève sur deux est issu de Quartiers Prioritaires de la Ville, notamment de la Cité des Lauriers, « l’une des dix cités les plus difficiles en France », pointe Valentin. Au quotidien, Medhi, Elyes et Besma côtoient ainsi Côme, Salomé ou Timéo.

Soutien à la parentalité et ouverture sur le quartier

« C’est une chance de pouvoir offrir aux enfants une vraie mixité sociale et un vivre-ensemble », constate Blanche-Astrid, mère de trois enfants dont deux, en âge d’être scolarisés, sont inscrits au Cours Ozanam. Venue assister à la remise d’uniforme de son fils Camille, cinq ans, elle apprécie ce « cadre privilégié » : des petits effectifs (pas plus de 15 élèves par classe), des enseignants très présents et « une liberté pour chacun de vivre sa religion dans la discussion, et non comme un tabou ». Non loin de là, une autre maman discute avec d’autres parents sur un banc. « C’est simple : c’est la meilleure école de tout Marseille », affirme Farida, mère au foyer. « Nous, on habite dans le 10ème arrondissement, on met 45 minutes pour venir mais ça vaut le coup », poursuit-elle. Pourtant, elle avait inscrit ses deux filles en primaire et en maternelle dans le privé. Mais, « ici on communique », avance-t-elle, « à la fois avec les professeurs et entre parents ».

L’école est un lieu de vie, comme une micro-société où l’on découvre et expérimente les rapports humains de bienveillance, de fraternité et d’ouverture

Valentin Rebeix, directeur du Cours Ozanam

Depuis son ouverture en 2014, le Cours Ozanam a fait le choix de développer un volet annexe à l’école dédié au soutien à la parentalité : visites de l’équipe pédagogique au domicile des familles, ateliers de formation pour adultes (aide aux devoirs, gestion des écrans, jeux en famille, nutrition) et un café des parents hebdomadaire. « C’est un lieu de gratuité qui aide à construire la confiance », pointe le chef d’établissement. « J’y vais toutes les semaines », assure Farida, « on peut poser plein de questions et on se donne des astuces pour les aides aux devoirs ». « J’y participe de temps en temps pour partager les difficultés et les joies d’autres parents », raconte de son côté Blanche-Astrid, « ça m’aide à vivre vraiment la différence et à m’ouvrir sur le quartier ». Dans sa perspective de « micro-société », le Cours Ozanam développe également des partenariats avec des chefs d’entreprise, la maison de retraite voisine, des associations du quartier… Farida a notamment pu participer à un atelier de réinsertion professionnelle avec une association partenaire, « Massajobs ». « Ce n’est que du positif », conclut cette dernière.

Un système hors-contrat fragile mais solidaire

Pourtant, au début, « l’approche Ozanam » a dérouté Farida : « on se posait plein de questions sur le fonctionnement hors-contrat », se souvient la mère de famille. A commencer par le coût, qui même s’il est adapté en fonction du coefficient CAF des familles, revient en moyenne à 60 euros par élève par mois. « Et cela ne couvre que 10% des frais de fonctionnement », prévient Valentin Rebeix. Malgré ses premières hésitations, Farida fini par trancher : « je préfère payer, c’est pour le bien de mes filles ».

Pour couvrir le budget annuel, l’école a notamment recours à des subventions de la Ville de Marseille et du Département des Bouches-du-Rhône, même si « 80% de nos fonds proviennent de dons d’entreprises ou de particuliers », poursuit le directeur. Un fonctionnement qui s’avère à double-tranchant : « c’est un moteur de solidarité mais c’est aussi un stress chaque année ». 

Au-delà de l’aspect financier, certaines polémiques se sont fait entendre au niveau politique : plusieurs enquêtes ont mis à jour des liens entre le réseau Espérance Banlieues et les milieux conservateurs. Son fondateur, Eric Mestrallet, fut un proche du Mouvement pour la France de Philippe de Villiers. Le réseau a également été affilié à ses débuts à la Fondation pour l’Ecole, liée à La Manif pour Tous et à la Fondation anti-IVG Jérôme Lejeune. Depuis 2019, Espérance Banlieues s’est affranchi de cette structure et évolue désormais sous l’égide de la Fondation de France.

Aidez-nous à vous raconter le monde

Frictions lance sa campagne de crowdfunding : en soutenant Frictions, vous faites vivre une communauté d’auteurs et de journalistes qui racontent le monde par l’intime !

Nous soutenir

Un apprentissage du vivre-ensemble durable

« Ce qui m’a le plus marqué ? une incitation à l’implication personnelle », se souvient Antoine, 15 ans, en classe de première dans un lycée cossu du centre-ville de Marseille. Cet ancien élève revient sur les lieux qui l’ont vu grandir lors d’une « réunion des anciens » que l’école initie cette année. « Ici, j’ai appris à faire les choses par moi-même. Du coup je me suis impliqué dans mon lycée : je me suis présenté au conseil de vie lycéenne et au Conseil d’Administration », poursuit le jeune homme. « Je suis passée de 13 à 29 élèves en classe, c’est assez spécial », indique de son côté Roya, 11 ans, qui vient d’entrer en 6ème dans un collège privé des environs.

Au sein des 70 anciens élèves que compte désormais le Cours Ozanam, « 100% d’entre eux ont choisi le collège où ils voulaient aller et 90% sont allés dans le privé. Pour nous c’est une réussite, car ils sont désormais sur des rails. » indique le chef d’établissement, qui tombe la veste pour aller jouer à la balle au prisonnier avec les anciens élèves. Avant d’aller se joindre à eux, Roya ajoute : « au Cours Ozanam, j’ai appris à devenir sociable avec tout le monde, quel que soit l’âge ou la culture. Ici, on joue collectif ! »

Explorer

Récit 10 min.

Moi aussi, j'ignorais ce que veut dire Allah Akbar

Pourquoi apprendre l’arabe est utile aujourd’hui en France ? Prenez mon cas : cela m’a fait prendre conscience des préjugés français dans lesquels j’ai grandi, et m’a rendue plus empathique.

lire
Témoignage 23 min.

Camille Giry : "quand ça vient dans le monde réel, ça peut faire peur."

Body shaming, insultes sexistes, menaces de mort... Être féministe sur les réseaux sociaux est un combat qui dépasse le virtuel.

écouter
Récit 7 min.

A La Réunion, “fin du monde et fin du mois”, même combat ?

De retour à la Réunion, Laura constate les effets concrets du changement climatique sur son île natale.

lire